First time member and home recorder

casey3115

I am a college student and a music major and just recently i went to the studio with my friends for them to record their newest demo. I sat in the control booth the whole time and learned what i could (didnt figure out much) now i have a great facination with home recording and i want very much to start playing around with home recording.

i will need to be able to mic 1 electric guitar, 1 acoustic, few different vocal mics, mics for my piano, and mics for conga drums and a normal set. i liked the way everything was working in the studio. i believe he called it scratch tracks, we could turn off certain tracks, and just listen to others, and so on. i would like very much to be able to multitrack. play around with each independant layer before the final mix down.

i dont know anyhting about what im looking to do. if i want digital , analog, or the necessary equippment. i am very proficient with computers and anyhting electronic. if anyone can get me started in the right direction i would greatly appreciate it.

thanks. casey

Welcome Casey. Wow what a post. I can definitely understand the fascination. Those are some broad questions, and so far it seems your needs are pretty basic. But there's alot more you can add, especially budget I think 'cause there are so many layers and directions to go. Money can usually answer the question pretty quickly. Are you good with a computer? If so, digital is the way to go, but can also be acheived with a stand alone hard disk recorder and no computer. Your going to need a bunch of stuff of course, mixers, preamps, a good space, a good computer if you chose that route, monitors, etc. Dig around the threads here, use the search function, there's a wealth of information that will probably start to answer your initial questions so you can get more specific help when you're ready. Good luck! :D