First song I’ve written, thanks to a workshop

flyingace

Well, I’ve been playing since 1984 and I’ve written music, helped with lyrics but never could claim I wrote an entire song by myself until August this year (2023)! We have an awesome place here in our town called The Writer’s Colony. They usually focus on fiction writers but in August, they had a fella from Nashville, named Tim Easton, come and teach a workshop. It was fantastic, he was not only a great teacher but a fantastic songwriter and musician. He really focused on us and not himself, though, helping each of us bring out what was inside of us.
This is my song, called Swear I‘ll Never. I also entered it into the American Songwriter contest.
I originally wrote it on the guitar with a 5th fret capo, but I’d always intended for it to be a ukulele song. Tim said he wanted us to write a song with no more than 3 chords that was like a campfire song, something anyone would like to sing along with. Others in the group didn’t really do that very well but I really embraced this idea.
I recorded this on my Tascam M-520 using a Neumann TLM 103 for my Kala USA Koa Super Tenor uke with low G tuning and a Shure SM7B for vocals all live to Tascam 32B before bringing it into Logic via my MOTU 16A interface and uploading it to soundcloud.
Here it is, Swear I’ll Never by Patrick Burnett:

Thank you guys! I respect so many of you here and have been very sheepish about sharing this with anyone other than family and friends. This is my first public post about it. I have a few more in the works but I wouldn’t say the seal is broken just yet. Songwriting is odd. It’s hard and easy at the same time. I honestly don’t remember writing most of this song originally, like you go into a trance of some sort, weird! ha ha