First post - First Project!

savageblues

Hello everyone,

Im a brand spankin new member, and as you can see this is my first post here!

I am starting to make plans for my first real project:

I am in a band (10yrs) and we want to make a demo CD that we can hand out to bars/clubs etc for bookings. 5 songs, maybe three covers, two originals.

I bought a brand new Korg D1600, plus an SM58, an SM57. This has always been a dream of mine. The thing that appealed to me about the Korg was the 'all-inclusive' essentials to make a pro sounding CD.

I have no studio experience, but I have a good handle on the fundamentals I think. I have read a great deal here and at other links. This place is a great rescource!

Any advice from you experienced producer/engineers for our first project? I can rent microphones locally inexpensively.

Cheers!

Watch your effect levels. Most newby recordings drown everything in reverb because it sounds good soloed that way. Make sure it sounds good in the mix.

Thanks Chibi,

The D1600 has lots of effects so I am learning to tweak to parameters, generally down, not up (if you know what I mean). Usually I find presets too wet for my liking. I will try to lay off the compression and reverb as much as possible, still I will use some.

However, in future I am looking forward to trying some of the wacky-effects for some advantage (maybe some stereo flange or phase on the vocals during a pivotal song part).

Yo SavageBlOOZe:

If you can put your vocals on TWO tracks, it will give more presence.

As noted, don't drown your cuts with reverb; however, reverb is important to vocals. Muddy reverb hurts; clear reverb with a bit of delay, works more often than not.

Good luck.

Merry Christmas
Green Hornet