First post and what I would like to do

Beemer

Hi all,

I am a retired electrical/electronic engineer and play piano and acoustic guitar. I run Windows 7 Pro 64-bit and have an Echo Mia Midi sound card and Behringer mixer. I have a 61 key midi keyboard, Kurzweil Pro1200 which is an old 88 key synth (but more like a master keyboard) , Aleisis HR16 drum machine and an Alesis MicroVerb. My only mic is a Shure SM58.

My goal is to record acoustic guitar, my voice, rhythm percussion and synth.

I have over the years tried various DAW demo software but never got round to actually doing any Midi +analog recording.

The first problem I see is that all of my equipment is in one small room and any recording of my acoustic guitar and voice is sure to pick up computer fan and hard disk noise.

I was thinking about buying a digital recorder to use in a quiet room but I am concerned that I have got my intended workflow wrong and I should be first laying down a percussion/rhythm track in the DAW?

This must be a common issue so I hope I can get some advice here.

Ian

For your problem of computer noise, I think they make gobos that you can put around your computer which may or may not work. How small is the room? If you keep the mic facing away from the computer with the mic level somewhat low, you might not get noise anyway.

I personally would not want to have to deal with recording onto a digital recorder and then transferring that to the computer, seems like an unnecessary step that would limit your ability to do certain things, for example, play guitar over a midi track in your DAW.
As far as your workflow goes, it's whatever works for you. I would lay down a scratch guitar track over a click, then add percussion/other elements then do a 'real' guitar take and go from there

I have to disagree. I think you SHOULD get a dedicated multitrack. I think most people should start there. Here's why;