First post and just looking for some feedback

Pete2112

Hey everyone,
I have no idea why it took me so long to check out this site, but I’m glad I finally did as it’s filled with great information.

A little about me:
I’ve been doing computer based home recording for about eight years now and I’ve become very serious about recording a “real” album. I play guitar, bass, keys and I’ll be having a friend record the drums. I’m in the process of looking for a singer to work on this project.
My issue is that I’m not really happy with my recorded guitar tone. I never have been and I’ve tried a million different things over the years, but it’s always lacking. I’ve attached a couple clips to get an idea about what I’m talking about. The style is a hard rock/progressive/light metal type of thing, so I’m trying to get a sound that captures that genre.
I have a decent guitar rig that includes a Mesa Boogie Triaxis and a Mesa Boogie power amp. I’m using a couple different mic’s that include an SM57, SM57beta and an Audix i5 into a presonus mic preamp.

Any advice or comments on these clips would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

http://www.soundclick.com/util/getplayer.m3u?id=8226980&q=hi

http://www.soundclick.com/util/getplayer.m3u?id=8217945&q=hi

I’ve been doing computer based home recording for about eight years now and I’ve become very serious about recording a “real” album.
Hello, Pete, and welcome to the board! :)

The two major points that come to what little is left of my mind when reading your post are:

1) What is your motivation for recording a "real" album, as your refer to it? If you we're forced by gun point to make a judgment, is your motivation more of making a DIY recording project that just happens to be an album of your stuff, or is it more of producing an album of your stuff, and you just so happen to be trying to record it DIY?