First post - acoustic stuff

incursio

Hello everyone - new to this site (and forum) - looks great, and will definitely be here a lot!

This is my first post here, so I'm going to be brave - lol.

Let me preface this by saying that I have really crappy studio - not necessarily equipment wise, but "room" wise. See my post in the studio design forum here about my "unfinished basement" studio for a pic. At any rate, room noise galore.

The levels seem a bit low when I compare them to other acoustic tunes posted here. Not sure what I'm doing wrong - my levels looked pretty good to me when recording and mixing down...hmm. THen again, I am just learning how to use my new Yamaha AW4416 - so it is probably operator error. :)

Here you go - quick demo of "A Fragile Shell":

Ignore the whistling at the beginning - rofl - that was me goofing around. Recorded in one 30 minute session - plug and go. Recorded the guitar and main vocal at the same time - guitar going straight into the board, as well as mic'd with a small mic to give it some more body (just using my high Z input on my AW4416 sounds like crap by itself).

Cheers.
Scott

Scott,
Pretty good for a 30 minute session! I really liked your guitar work. There was a couple of spots where the vocal melody and the guitar seemed to clash, but if you were to track separately, you could probably correct that.

the whistling... hehe was that a little axl tribute there?

Queue

man what a great song !

Okay, this hopefully isn't the final mix because I think your song is great. What do you think about another voice doing harmonies with the main vocal ? I kept waiting for a harmony line to come in, but that is just something I thought would really add to the song. Great work man, give this song all you can give, it's a keeper.
Silver

Thanks for the encouragement, gang.

Heavens no, this is nowhere near a final mix - it was a rough cut to lay it down, and see where I am with it.