First Mixing Clinic Post...

nimpo46

Hello everyone, thought I'd go ahead and ask for your opinion on my mixes.
Here's the thing, I have very little good equipment:

- PreSonus Inspire
- Cubase
- Headphones (??? not monitor headphones or anything)
- EZDrummer (Which i can only get to have one channel per cubase project meaning I can't eq each drum seperately, unless I'm doing something wrong)
- Bass??? Well.... It's Fruity Loops' Fretless Bass synth... which is not great so I get it to do as best I can.. I can't play/don't have a bass so I can't record one.
- Guitar is usually direct in and in the case of 'Not This Way' it's Voxengo Modeler.
- Backup strings are all VSTs done in fruity loops or cubase itself.
- Speakers.. just average cheap speakers.
- Vocal mic is pretty decent, that's about the best piece besides the Inspire box I have.

Anyway, I'm very new at all this and KNOW there is loads of room for improvement, and I'm sure some of it is down to equipment (monitors? real bass?) but figure there might be some stuff you can notice right off the bat. Any help is much appreciated!! Thanks :)

http://www.soundclick.com/AlexCrosby

(BTW, www.myspace.com/delucaband is my band and there are some other songs there that are too long to upload to soundclick for free)

Can't listen to your mix right now dude, just thought I'd say two things:

If a song is too long to upload to soundclick, throw it onto lightningmp3.com - it doesn't degrade the quality like myspace either (myspace destroys the sound), it's free, and the limit is a file size of 16MB.

-and-

You don't need amazing equipment to make amazing music ;)

Hey Alex,

Nice guitar and synth/string integration. Esp. at intro of Not This Way.
Neat song, like the vocals you tried hard, I think, to do.
In all, that song sounds like that band , I cannot remember is it Soundgarden, the band that does, 'I'm a Creep'?