First mix with my new monitors. What do you think??

imacgreg

Hey all,
I just got a pair of Paradigm mini monitors to use as my nearfields and this mix was done on them using N-track. The band is a local group called Five Minute Ride and they are my first real paying gig, although really cheap (I'm still learning). Anyway, I know the lead vox are off in a couple places as well as guitars, but what I'm concerned about is the general balance on the different sort of systems you guys have. Is the 'verb on drums and vocals too much? How does the kick sound in relation to the rest of the mix? For some reason I sometimes mix the drums a little hot or wet. What do you think? Anyway, I appreciate you guys and gals checking it out, thanks,

Ian

Heres the link:

http://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/album.php?aid=1787&alid=-1

Oh yeah, the song is "thrid person"
thanks!!

I want very much to listen to this, because what I can hear sounds very cool...but the level is sooooo low, I'm seriously having trouble making it out.

level is WAY low on my end. Can you bump it up and repost it? I promise I'll listen lots.

Thanks,
Chris

Cool song, a lot of reverb, at least for this music. The reverb on the drums is cool, cymbals maybe to loud, but I definitely want those distorted guitars to really hit me. Maybe there's no reverb on them but when theres a lot of reverb on anythign it just sounds to me like its on everything. I think we all went through the reverb is cool stage, lol, I used to put songs underwater. I realized all I need now is reverb on the snare and maybe vocals, sometimes sparingly elsewhere. But I hate to tell you not to use reverb because I like the really bigish type sound for this song, so in conclusion, less reverb on vocals and guitars, maybe a little less on drums.

Or maybe you could get the big sound by dubbing some guitars, just a little somethign to think about!

Eric