First mix from the new board. Flame away...

Czech54

Downtown - The Five Star Generals

This is the first mix off my new boards. It started off as just a couple of riffs thrown together to get an idea of sound but it turned out to be a pretty cool tune for just a scratch song written in about 10 minutes....

Couple of things i know are wrong with the mix so far...

-the vocals needs to be brought up the first few words of the first verse.
-the scratch guitars (all tracks rythym and solo) need to be re-recorded.
-a little less reverb on the voice.
-the drums might be a little bit overcompressed. (we were going for that trashy 'balls to the wall' sound)
-The cymbals need to be brought up in the mix a bit.

anything else????

Firstly. No flaming here. This is some awesome stuff. I can't find any glaring problems in the mix but I'm no expert. However I would agree with you that maybe the drums are a little compressed, but to me it only shows on the double kicks. And its hard to tell as it could just be the mp3 compression or whatever contributing. Apart from that I really like the mix, its very organic and full of life.

Damn good tune also, very upbeat, found myself instantly tapping my foot. Great vocals, great guitar work, solid bass, and I personally really like the guitar sound.

This is all IMHO, and I'm no expert but figured I'd throw in my 2 cents. All in all if it was me I'd be pretty happy with this. :)

Sorry I can't offer any major advice, apart from to say keep it up, this is some great stuff. :D

this made me want to play guitar in the 5 star generals. the vocals have a weird lack of presence and the kick sounds funny. other than that, COOL!!

Czech54 said:
Downtown - The Five Star Generals

This is the first mix off my new boards. It started off as just a couple of riffs thrown together to get an idea of sound but it turned out to be a pretty cool tune for just a scratch song written in about 10 minutes....