First ever song! Would love to know what you think! :)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Try this link!

A little editing makess it work ;)

Nice little song. I'm not really educated to comment on the recording/mixing/production as I'm a beginner myself but I quite liked the song.

Sounds nice! Your voice needs to be pulled up a bit louder. Its being covered up by the music in a few places.
I like the melody and your singing is unique!

It sounds like a nice mellow ballad, keyboard backing is solid and the vocal comes through well. Good work!
And the vocal remind me a lot of Kasey Chambers, an Australian alt Country singer.

Whoa, the opening notes freaked me out, I thought for a moment I forgot to plug in my headphones and that I'm blasting away on the speakers (its quarter to 1 a.m. where I live) - my compliments on the use of reverb if it was a creative choice (and not part of the keyboard preset). Apart from that, it was really kind of forgettable I thought. Maybe one thing that stood out was the unusual vocal rhythm in the first bars, but it didn't really hold my attention for too long. Though there are a couple of plosive blasts on the mic (my pet peeve when it comes to recording), the mix holds together remarkably well, and the vocals are actually really good, i.e. sung in tune, with a degree of feeling etc - stuff that should be taken for granted in a way, but that lots of recordings fall short on.

Try this link!

A little editing makess it work ;)
How in the world did you reconstruct the link from that?!

Nice!

1st considerations for kicking this one up:

Melody: the tune tends toward forgettable, as said above, because the melody is not strong, generally.....locked into scale-like movement....words crammed sometimes, and the melody diddles along to let them be sung: classic error, letting lyric's syllables drive the melody. Fit new words that say the same thing to a better melody your soul makes when listening to the changes.