First big job

sk8ingsnowman

I am sure everyone is sick of this question but no one knows where I live so here it goes.

Farily common situation: Band buys pro tools rig because they want to save money and record their own album. After a few failed attempts the realize why engineers get paid so much?

The band talked to some of my class mates (I am in school for recording arts) and was reffered to me because I know pro tools and the asked me to record their album.

Its my understanding that they are providing around 90% of the equipment.

I am a recording arts student I have A LOT of knowledge but not too much in the way of experience besides my music and some demos I have done recently.

How much should I charge?

I am confident I can get a professional sounding recording but I know my lack of experiece in the "Real World" is going to lead to some delays in recording, problem fixes that are difficult to explain in a class room etc...

I don't want to be too cheap because it will make me look bad and I don't want to overcharge because if there are problems they might rip off my head.

any help general or specific would be awsome

thanks in advance,
DAN!

:cool: Whats your location? Also what can the band pay? Are they just starting out or are they semi-pro or pro??

da MUTT

I don't think you should charge until you are confident you can deliver a quality product. When they are paying you are under the gun and they are the boss. If you do it for free then you are on equal footing with them and they can't really complain about time or quality. You will also have a good demo reel of your engineering skills to use when you need to lure in new clients.

If they pay and you fuck it up you will have the beginning of a bad rep. If you do it for free and fuck it up then it's a wash. If you end up making a great album then you are a hero either way and all it cost was your spare time with no out of pocket expense.