FireWire interface vs. mixer/preamp

kevvwho

Forgive me for being the suck at searching for I have not come across a thread that could provide me closure on a topic that has been on my mind for the past couple weeks.

I am a musician gone producer attempting to capture the essence of sound! (which I'm sure we all can relate to that!) .. I am a vocalist , guitarist , and pianist and have a minor studio setup that has been suiting to my needs. I currently running with a focus rite Safire 24 pro dsp with essential setup ( the goods including nt2 , nt5s, shock, pop, boom, monitors,headphones) .. Now my question to you knowledgable sound heads out there...

How serious would I benefit from purchasing a mixer , preamps and other rack gear? If I would, can you point me in the direction to mid level gear that would suit me for the long run? Ie building a studio for full drum kits....

Thanks
Kvv

Morning Kev,
Adding a mixer per se' to your system is not going to increase you track count other than turning the present lines 3&4 on the Saff 24 into "mic" inputs.

However, the Saffire has ADAT so you have the capability to add 8 more channels giving you a total of 12 tracks (plus S/PDIF, more of that later) The Behringer ADA 8000 unit is actually quite well thought of in even top professional circles and is surely good enough for drums/guitar cabs? There are of course better ADAT pres all the way up to RME nirvana!

S/PDIF (as promised!) You mentioned a mic pre amp? The pres in Focusrite kit have a very good rep so any addition needs to be considered in terms of desired reslults. MUCH cleaner with more gain or maybe something with a bit of attitude? First camp Grace, second Neve(?). The Audient Mico can do a bit of both and has the big feature of having a digital converter, a very good one by all accounts, built in so it can feed directly to the Saffs S/PDIF input.