Fat Head

NCdan

Is the Fat Head ribbon mic really worth buying? I spend most of my music money on instruments, so I've never spent a lot of money on a mic or even a preamp. I'll be moving back to the US in July and I'll have about $300 in my music budget left over for miscellaneous. I really would rather invest in something other than another Shure mic at this point, and I'm not buying a cheap tube mic, so I was wondering if a $300 ribbon mic is really worth it? I'd like to get a darker sound, and the Fat Head does sound quite dark compared to the sm57 in the sound samples, but would my money be better invested in yet another dynamic mic? Btw, I'd be using this in the studio and possibly live. Please be honest, because my feelings won't be hurt. As you might guess, I have no experience using ribbon mics. Thanks.

Well you won't be using it live cause of the figure8 pattern but then again maybe and by the sounds of it you'll be using it to mic an amp? or what will you be using it for? need to know these things.
I bought a pair and use them as over heads on drums every so often in my studio with good results.

There are plenty of low end, ribbon mics to choose from depending on your needs.
Fatheads are more expensive than similar models but claim to be better.
For $80, The Nady RSM4 is nice and dark. You'll be putting it up to a cabinet or recording bass?

The main use of the Fat Head would be on a guitar cabinet, but I have been looking for a darker bass tone, so I might use it with a bass cabinet as well. It's immediate use would be for recording, but I would at least try it out live and see what happens.