Expanding my mic collection - what to invest in?

M-Bass-M

Hi,

I'm relatively new to home recording, and my plan is to build up my equipment over time. Currently the only mic I have is a Sure SM58, and so I'm looking to invest in some more mics. My plan was to invest in a pair of stereo matched small condensers, and a single LDC. The LDC would act as my main vocal mic, while the condensers would give me versatility.

For the matched condensers I was thinking either Rode NT55's or SE Electronics sE4's. For the LDC I am open to recommendations. My budget is £1,500 / $2,000.

So, my questions are:
1. Is investing in the stereo matched condensers a good idea, or would you invest in a different type of mic?
2. Given the budget, what recommendations would you make?

Thanks in advance

Mark

For a SDC pair may I suggest the Oktava MK-012 ;)

big fat +1 on the MK012's; a pair with the cardioid, omni, and hypercardioid caps will go a long way and for about £250 for a matched pair they're pretty unbeatable imo. is it worth investing in a matched stereo pair?; imo, yes! like you said, it'll give you a lot of versatility

as far as LDC's in your price range go there are soooooooooooooooooooo many options that will cover most bases so i'd say have a read though the forums (they're discussed so much) and find sometime that fits you needs.

my suggestions are the Rode K2, Avantone CV12, sEZ3300a, AKG C414, Neumann TLM102 or TLM103.

Thanks for the responses and recommendations - the MK-012 certainly seems a good investment, particularly with the extra capsules to really add versatility.

As for the LDCs, the C414 and TLM103 seem a bit more expensive than the Rode, the Avantone and the TLM102. I know it's very subjective, but what would I be getting in exchange for an extra couple of hundred quid or so?

1. Is investing in the stereo matched condensers a good idea, or would you invest in a different type of mic?