Everyone: what do YOU use Cakewalk/Sonar to do??

keyboard30

Hi everybody welcome to my first post on the bulletin boards at homerecording.com

(drum rolllll...........)

ok, ok, keep the boos and hisses to a minimum....

I've joined several different forums that are very specialized and am looking for, well, a place to hang out with people who use cakewalk & a keyboard the way I do.

I just can't seem to find anyone who does use them the way I do...

Here's what I do, I have been playing pianos/keyboards for 30 years, but just got into using Cakewalk for recording myself playing my new Yamaha keyboard.

I'm multi-track recording, right now I can only save in midi files, but I have an audio interface on the way (I just ordered a Yamaha UW500 from zzsounds) so I'll be able to actually make MP3's, etc., without having to mix-down from midi (I have yet to find a software synth that sounds as good as my keyboard.)

Perhaps you are starting to see my problem.

I'm not a "midi programmer" so I don't belong in sequencing forums (with those who "enter" notes as if it were data entry rather than music)

...although I am beginning to learn XG parameters and effects to punch my recordings up to the best they can be.

I don't use soft synths nor do I want to (so I offend the majority of people in midi forums) My keyboard has 760 voices (including the 480 XG set) and when I expand I hope to go for a tone generator, probably the Proteus 2000 or 2500.

So, I like "real" or "rack" gear.

And I hardly EVER use the "auto-accompany" on my keyboard, the loops are boring, monotonous, etc. so I offended everyone on the PSR songs forum because that's all they do, and THEY had the nerve to tell me I couldn't PLAY my instrument, that anyone who sequenced wasn't "really playing."

I have mixed down a few of my creations to MP3 via soft synth & recorded vocals FOR FUN (I can carry a tune in a bucket, but that's it.....)