Event 20/20s bass light?

PhiloBeddoe

I've been mixing on passive Event 20/20 monitors powered by a Hafler TA1600 power amp in a room that's pretty heavily treated acoustically and my mixes always turn out very bass heavy and muddy. I really feel like I'm mixing blind down below 120 Hz or so. As a result I feel I'm overcompensating by cutting a ridiculous amount of low end out in order to get something that's clear.

I have this suspicion that these monitors are a little light in the low end and perhaps too flattering in the high mids and have also found a few reviews mentioning this.

I just ran Ethan Winer's test tone files and the results are attached here. Everything below 100Hz is noticeably lower, but I don't know if this is normal or not.

Has anyone had a similar experience? I'm not experienced enough to be sure that the monitors are the problem, but it's an interesting coincidence at least.

Should I consider new monitors, maybe Mackie HR824s or something?

Many thanks

Attachments

• RoomResponse.pdf
    30.6 KB · Views: 53
I use the active version of the Event 20/20's. I generally find they don't reproduce well below 50Hz or so (not sure any system with 8" speakers and no subwoofer is going to). As a result, I generally use a roll-off at around 40Hz. Seems to work OK for me, but I imagine the the results might be different depending on the style of music.

Also, mud is usually in the 300Hz range. So I wouldn't attribute the muddiness to the speakers. Try a cut around 300 for the mud.

Thanks for the response. I do roll everything off below 50Hz and high pass everything but bass guitar and kick drum at around 100Hz.

A few reviews I've read seem to prefer the actives to the passives.