Epiphone Les Paul

lilray99

I am renting a left handed epiphone les paul model.
It sells for $650 Canadian.

Should I grab it?

-Bird's eye Sunburst body
-Rosewood Neck

Does any one know the difference between Epiphone models & Gibson Models?

epiphone vs gibson

well... im no expert but from what ive been told. epiphone guitars dont use a solid chunk of wood for the body like a gibson does, that might make a difference in the tone and sustain. i dont know about the quality of the wood they use though.

they also use lower quality electronics and pickups and the tuners might need an upgrade as well.

some ppl think an epiphone sounds just as good as a gibson and the gibson is just charging extra for their name recognition , so thats up to u to find out.

epiphone is made overseas by some asian people who will work for peanuts but will turn out some decent guitars occasionally.

thats all i know, good luck.

I'm assuming it is a G-400 model. That guitar can be had for under $400 US (New). If you get a chance, check out both the Custom and Elite series models as a comparison to the G-400. I have both and have been very pleased.

It all depends on what you want and can afford. Bucks buy a better product as a general rule.

If you can tell the difference in the neck between a Gibson and an Epiphone, maybe its time to move into a higher end axe. But if you can't, stay with the lower end stuff. You can always change the electronics if you want.

I have a friend who has a gibson melody maker SG 1968. I hate it, wont stay in tune and the neck has a bad feel...BUT, I have played Epies that sound/play great. So the moral is...even some Caddilacs break down and need towed by a ford. If it sounds good..then thats the one!! go play a bunch...When i bought my strat..I played every Strat in the store that day. I ended up with a mexican...I just liked the way it played.

I've got an Epiphone Les Paul Custom.. love it. It weighs a ton, but you get used to it.. nice fat sound.