Electronic Drum Kits

Waffleness

Hello,

I am a pianist and guitarist, but would really like to learn drums. I normally program drums or play them on the keys, and as a result don't really feel the "groove". I don't want a full on electronic drum kit because of size and space, but just wanted some opinions on something like this:

http://www.kennysmusic.co.uk/alesis-performance-pad-midi-percussion-controller.html?source=googleps

Are they useless? In terms of using real sticks and doing rolls and flams and stuff, will it help me learn a bit of technique without a full on kit? Is the response fast, or likely to drop hits on quick rolls?

Thanks

I haven't played that unit, but from taking a look, yes you can achieve a "feel" in your recording from something like this, though I've never been impressed with anything Alesis has ever made when it comes to drums. The feel in drums comes from the human element so anything you hit with a stick will give you some "feel"...that's doesn't mean it will be a good feel! No offense...I've been a drummer for 20 years and it's a craft and art form like any other instrument. If you're truly wanting to go the digital route, there is nothing better than Roland brains (drum modules) and mesh triggered drums. I highly recommend the TD-20, though you said you didn't want a full-blown kit. If your intention is to get great sounding drums for recording purposes I would highly recommend you check out Addictive Drums. This program lets you select every hit down to a subtle ruff and if you used correctly, sounds 100% realistic.