Electric Drum help

buryher17

I am looking to purchase an electric drumset within the next week or two and have a couple questions regarding it.

I already own a Dm5 trigger module and know how to work it fine (i've been using it with triggering drums for about 2 years now). So I'm hoping to just find a set up wihtout the module (which doesnt seem to pop up).

I am looking to buy a 5 peice electronic kit with 3 cymbals at least (hi hat, crash and ride). A pretty standard kit. I wanted to ask what drum set would you suggest for (new/used) for about $500.

The next question I have is, if it has a kick pad included, will a double pedal work on it as well? I have an iron cobra pedal but want to know if you need to buy a special type of trigger pad for a double pedal. (I dont think you would but just reassuring my thoughts).

Any models or brands would be a GREAT help! Thanks

I'd check ebay, you can get a 5 pc set of pads and mesh head v-drums for $500 no prob. I'd stick with Roland stuff, PD-8's are nice dual trigger pads going for about $45.. I don't really know anything about any other elec. drums besides Roland, but I know Roland inside out. I wheeled and dealed about 50 roland kits parts'ed em out on ebay, keeping a pad here, a cymbal there, I got a freakin huge 2-module 18pc v-drum kit for free, aside from the time.

There are a few different types of kick triggers. 2 are likely to come with a TD-3 kit, the KD-7 and the KD-8. You can hook any double pedal to the KD-8. TD-3 kits have been shipping stock with KD-8's for years now, shouldn't be a prob. The KD-7 is a weird little thing, you need a special beater connected to your pedal, and you can only have ONE pedal on it. To have a double bass setup, you'd beed 2 KD-7s. The KD-7's were standard issue for the really old kits like the TD-7/8/10. I see them less and less as the years go on.

yup even my cheap simmons is double capable.