Effects

Dj17

I want record electric guitar using my computer. Anybody knows how to get a wide variety of effects (especially different types of distortion)? Where do I have to look? Software? Soundcards?

I have no clue. I'm a rookie.

I'm buying a new soundcard soon, anyway. Chances are I'm getting an Audiophile 2496. That's what I can afford at the store, and it's supposed to be good.

So? What are ways to get effects out of this one?

You could spend a hefty penny and get Amplitube, or Guitar Rig.
These are software guitar amp/effects modelers.

i dont' think the sound card itself is gonna satisfy you interms of effects. it will be important though as now you will have that low latency WDM and ASIO to work with. You could run your gutiar into a vamp by behringer or a POD by line 6 and then use the line outs of those to go into the soundcard to be recorded. There really is no cheap solution if you want good sounding stuff. To be honest the best way i have found is to mic a good amp plain and simple. beats the heck out of DI"ing an electric guiar and adding fake distortion.

I got 2 distortion pedals (BOSS Metal Zone MT-2 and BOSS Power Driver PW-2). So... if I plug my guitar in one them and plug their line outs in the preamp (DMP3), it's going to sound alright? And is there any problem I could encounter with that setup?

(3.2 GHz, 1.5Gb of Ram, Asus P4800-C motherboard and Audiophile 2496 soundcard)

Where's my weakest link?? The soundcard, probably...

either way...