E-Bow

It is a small electo magnet that vibrates the string for as long as you hold it there. They are very cool for certain sounds.

The high guitar in U2's With or Without You and I think David Bowies 'Heroes" is an Ebow.

I guess you could make one since its it is just an electomagnet. How much are they selling for these days?

expensive enough 4 me...

I saw it at 79.99 USD in USA, but here they exceed the equivalent amount of 150 USD

Peace...

PC

I've got a few 30-second samples I did for some Flash files. Nothing terribly fancy but you can see what an ebow sounds like.

I've been messing with one for 20 years or so and really like it. It's tough for most people to get the hang of em at first but it's worth the effort I think. If you can find a used one I think the old chrome plated ones are easier to use. The string spacing is different now and I think they've made it a little smaller. The old one fit my hand better but maybe that's just me because I'm 6'5".

$150 would be pretty steep. E Bows are very cool but very limited. If you want infinite sustain it is either an Ebow or the special sustaining pickups which I believe do the same thing.

Tex, I think what you may be referring to is called the Sustainiac. It's pretty cool too. I don't think the sound is as nice as an ebow but it's more flexable in that you can play chords and whatnot. One thing that's neat is that you can play harmonics clean and make them sustain forever. They have some nice samples on their website:

http://www.sustainiac.com/sounds.htm