*Dumb Question Alert!*

Dr. Jimmy

Hi gang, I just picked up a Fostex R8 off of eBay and can't wait to start playing with it. I'm new to the whole recording business, but have been reading this forum for quite awhile (and used a lot of input here to make the desicion to get the R8), picking up quite a few hints and tricks. Here's are my dumb questions:

I'm going to be using a Behringer MX2004 board that I used live for a few years and am rather comfortable with. Once I record some drum tracks, what would be the best way to monitor those while overdubbing other tracks (guitar, bass etc...)? Lets say I've recorded drums on tracks 1-4 and I want to put some guitar on tracks 5-6, I'd come out of the R8 into channels 1-4 (for the drums) and input the guitar on channels 5-6. What outputs from the mixer would go where? I'd obviously like to hear the drums played back as well as the guitar that I'm recording. The board has main outs, alt 3-4 outs as well as tape outs. I'd be monitoring them through a pair of powered monitors.

Sorry if this is really basic, but there's a lot of knowledge here and lots o' brains to be picked!

Thanks very much!
Bill

Hello,
I don't want to discourage you, but the Behringer MX2004 isn't really a sensible board to record with. It is much better suited to the live environment because of the way the outputs and inputs work on the machine. Most recording consoles have tape returns, to monitor from the tape machine, but this board does not.

If you're dead set on using this board for recording, I recommend reading from page 16 to the end of your manual (available here online: http://www.behringerdownload.de/MX2004A/MX2004A_ENG_Rev_H.pdf).

There are many great vintage boards you can use for your Fostex that are much better suited, such as the Tascam M312. Look elsewhere in this forum for other recommendations.

-MD

Dr. Jimmy said: