"ducking" reverb - help!

floppsybunny

i read an article that made reference to a "ducking" reverb effect on a vocal, that is designed to give a large amount of slapback effect at the end of each vocal line but not during the rest of the vocal, "ducking" the main vocal line and as it were and getting a nice spring-type echo on the last syllable of the vocal line. i'm trying to figure out how to do it. the article mentioned only that the reverb was tied into a compressor and this acted as a kind of gate on the reverb's dry/wet level.

can anyone give me a recipe for constructing a reverb of this type? can i just use 2 inserts on top of each other? how do i get the reverb to work this way with the compressor? i am a beginner-level mixer, running cubase le with waves diamond bundle plugins.

any info/advice appreciated!

i read an article that made reference to a "ducking" reverb effect on a vocal, that is designed to give a large amount of slapback effect at the end of each vocal line but not during the rest of the vocal, "ducking" the main vocal line and as it were and getting a nice spring-type echo on the last syllable of the vocal line./QUOTE]

here's how to do it:

slap a compressor on the reverb, and use the side-chain function with the key input being the vocals. set a fairly low threshold with a medium ration, fast attack and a medium release. like that, when the vocals are loud, it pulls the 'verb down, but when the vocals cut out all GR is removed..

here's how to do it:

slap a compressor on the reverb, and use the side-chain function with the key input being the vocals. set a fairly low threshold with a medium ration, fast attack and a medium release. like that, when the vocals are loud, it pulls the 'verb down, but when the vocals cut out all GR is removed..
The only difficutly is that Cubase LE doesn't support sidechaining.