Drumagog woes..

inmyheartx

So, the current band i'm recording is kind of sloppy. The drummer will start out good, hit really clean and hard, but then when a fast part comes a long he hits really soft. Now, I just thought I would replace the snare with Drumagog, lower the dynamic range with the samples, and it would be good. I'm still new to Drumagog, so maybe someone can help me..

On the "soft" hits, Drumagog has a hard time recognizing then, and when I set the Sensitivity too low, or the Resolution too low, it picks up unwanted hits.. I understand the hits being soft and the Sensitivity being set relatively low, it's going pick up unwanted stuff. I was curious if anyone could help me out with this. Tell me what I can set differently, what I can change, etc. I tried changing the EQ, trying to bring out the snare and cut out a lot of other stuff, didn't work too well. I tried raising the gain in the softer parts, didn't work too tell. I tried a combination of both, still didn't get the desired result (being a clean, steady snare throughout the song).

Any help or suggestions (besides have the band get a new drummer, I can't manage that, haha) are greatly appreciated. Thank you. =]

inmyheartx said:
Any help or suggestions (besides have the band get a new drummer, I can't manage that, haha) are greatly appreciated. Thank you. =]
Have you considered waiting until the drummer is ready to record - i.e. has practiced a bit more - before you record?

G.

Unless Im wrong I think with the sensitivity set low it will NOT pick up more of the unwanted noise, high sensitivity WILL pick up for unwanted noise,but Maybe Im off. Did you try a gate before applying Drumagog?

SouthSIDE Glen said:
Have you considered waiting until the drummer is ready to record - i.e. has practiced a bit more - before you record?

G.
Oh Ouch! Glen you said that out loud! :p