drumagog and quanitizing help

buryher17

I just starting a practice recording and wanted to start recording metal bands in a new more effective (accurate) way. I set up all the triggers to the drum set and plug them directly into the mixer. I have it so when it peaks it peaks to the top of the levels.

So this project i have 5 tracks, snare, kick, and 3 toms. I have cymbals recorded seperately on a Left and Right panned track.

The issue that comes into play is getting all the tracks to work perfectly with drumagog. I'm new to this program so what is a good suggestive setting for using tracks with triplets and double bass hits constantly being played.

I tryed doing a quanitize (through cubase) and it helped the problem but I'm still a little confused on how to PROPERLY quanitize.

Does anyone have suggested settings? And maybe a good article on how to properly use quanitizing (in general or in cubase)

thanks a lot! :D

I just starting a practice recording and wanted to start recording metal bands in a new more effective (accurate) way. I set up all the triggers to the drum set and plug them directly into the mixer. I have it so when it peaks it peaks to the top of the levels.

This is a bad idea. You typically want your peaks around -18 to -12 while tracking. Any more than that and you will run out of headroom when it comes time to mix.

The issue that comes into play is getting all the tracks to work perfectly with drumagog. I'm new to this program so what is a good suggestive setting for using tracks with triplets and double bass hits constantly being played.

I usually just adjust settings using the visual part of the plugin. Adjust the threshold to where it picks up the peaks, and adjust the sensitivity until it's picking up all of the hits. Usually between 40 and 80ms will do.

I tryed doing a quanitize (through cubase) and it helped the problem but I'm still a little confused on how to PROPERLY quanitize.