Drum Software - Help!

mikeh

I posted this in the drum thread a few days back - not much help - so I'm trying here. Forgive the double post!

OK, I've been a drummer for many, many years. During the last several years I've used a Roland TD10 kit in my home studio vs, acoustic drums (I live in a condo, don't have a good sounding room, etc. etc). While I've gotten about as good as I think I can at making the Roland sounds come across as "real" there are limts to how real they can sound. I record mostly country, new country, pop and a little jazz material.

So, I am finally at a point that I would like to try triggering samples (record MIDI performances from the Roland and then trigger software sounds). I just upgraded to a new computer with 250 gigs for processing and 250 gigs for projects - so hopefully I have ehough system to handle whatever! I'm useing Sonar 6 (I also have Pro Tools - but I suck at getting around in Pro Tools)

I read so much (including searches on this site) about Drums From Hell, Big Friggen Drums, EZ Drummer, Drums on Demand, etc. etc. - but I simply can't seem to get to the botom line - which is - what is nest for my needs.

I've heard (but not used) BFD (I was pretty impressed) and DFH (very decent). But I have not actually heard the rest. EZ drummer seems more designed for non drummers who need a quick drum track - but I don't know how well it would trigger from the TD10. I do n=know that I don't really want to cut and paste a bunch of loops!!!!

My needs are (in priority order):

1. Authentic sounding drums that are not overly processed (I have plenty of hardware and software processing)

2. samples that can respond to a fairly wide range of dynamics (ghost notes, etc)

3 . Relatively easy to use - sitting at a computer for hours programming sucks the musical energy right out of me