Drum Recording Opinions

Brian Ethics

So i've been dabbling in recording for a few months now. Overall I've been enjoying it and the sounds I've been producing. I've gone from raw sounding recordings to a stage where things sound a bit more polished. Overall my largest problem area has been drums.

As I am not a drummer and never had formal training for recording (the all of the engineers that have ever recorded my bands have been less than stellar) I have not been able to get as much out of this as I think I can. Part of the problem is my expectations with what I am doing and that I don't know exactly what I am looking for, so let me pass along a few questions.

1) As was posted in a previous message, I am having problems with the snare drum in the over all setup. It bleeds into every single other mic I use when drumming. Part of this could be avoided I realize by using Gates and EQing the mix a bit. Should I worry about trying to isolate each drum to it's own track, or should I accept that?

2)Currently, I am mic'ing the kit(s) with the following:

SM57 - Top of the Snare
Cobalt E04 (EV version of the 57)- Bottom of the Snare
Sennheiser e604 - Toms (hi & mid)
SM58 - Floor Tom
Beta52 - Bass Drum
2 MLX V63M - Overheads

Is there any parts that should (and keep in mind, i'm looking or opinions) always be EQ'd?, never be touched?, etc.

Thanks!

Snare bleed is normal, and usually not that much
of a problem. It is hi-Hat bleed that usually drives folks
nuts. The hi-hat is essentially white noise, and
if the drummer hits it all the time, you have
a challenge.

You can control some of the bleed with careful
positioning of the mics. For example, point
the snare mic so that its cable points at the hi-hat,
so the cardiod pattern can help.

Some engineers prefer hypercardiod mics (like
the Beyer M201) on the toms to help bleed,
but your 604s are fine.

You can fashion isolators for the snare mic from
a piece of ceiling tile, get a square foot or so,