Drum Mics

malcolm123

Hello ALL,
I haven't had enough time to search the threads but mainly I have been recording for a while now. Most of the serious recording has been done with different instruments,, other than real drums. Anyways a while back one of the bands I work with ordered this all in one studio kit package thingy and it came with a drum mic kit. A Nady kit that I onced researched and based on the price back then I figured it was pretty cheap. I have never used the mic kit before but just recently I had a studio constructed and after most of the gear, snakes, etc were in place I figured I would record a practice session just to see how it sounds. I used the Nady kit for the drums also the band rehearses in the garage portion of the studio building which is pretty big. In summary,, the drums sound like crap. The only decent sounds I could get were from the kick and lower tom. Hi Hat Snare, cymbals just sucked. So I informed them that if they want to record seriously drum mics would be the first problem to try and fix. I have used many different mic types for live performances ,but for recording I have never really dealt with the drums before. So I need to purchase ( my own ) drum mics. I have some 57s and 58s for live which I havent tried on the drums for recording plus I use them for vox. What is a good approach to this in terms of buying mics strickly for drums. It does not have to be a kit. I figured I would pick up some MXL's nonmatched for overheads, but for snare, kick, toms Im just not sure. Budget is around 300 max.

my current mic selection that isnt being used at the time of recording is:

MXL 990
MXL V67g
SP B1
Berrghnger something (looks like a SP B1)
MXL v69m
Those Nady SDC's that came with the kit. (never used them before though)

Thanks
Malcolm

tight budget!!