Drum Compression Help

apush

I'm new to recording and need help with setting up my compressor. I'm using a cheap 5 piece Nady drum mic kit with a SM57 on the snare going into an Alesis 3630 compr. then in an Akai DPS16. I don't have a preamp. I've been using this setup for 3 months and can't figure the damn thing (compr) out. It's either too much or too little. I'm a solo artist and not a very good drummer. So the volume of my playing fluctuates a lot. A drum machine is not really any option for my style. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here's a sample song using this setup.

Yes, I know the toms sound dead. The heads are ancient and dimpled to hell. I have bought new heads since this was recorded.

Taking the 3630 OUT of your signal chain completely will help immensely............

Plug it in and use it on your desk as a colorful paperweight, or even a flashy doorstop (I mean, it does have all those pretty lights and all... it might as well be useful for *something*!)

Bruce

sell the 3630 on ebay and get a Behringer Autocom Pro ($79)...at least youll get a usable unit.....

New Compressor

Say, I do get a new compressor, any suggestions in a sub $300 unit. Maybe something tube? I still wouldn't know how to use the stupid thing. Did you hear my MP3? The snare pops in and out a lot. it's very uneven. I need help with settings.

You've four compressors in the AKAI DPS16 unit. Have you tried using them as well?

I tried to find some info about the mics you were using, is it Nady DMK-5 and the SM57? What are you using for overheads?

"You've four compressors in the AKAI DPS16 unit. Have you tried using them as well? "
good idea...anyone out there hip to the quality of the Akai's compressor?....has to be better than the 3630....

Akai compressors