Driverack PA Experience

I have lots of experience with them. First, they do everything they say they will do. For some people they are great tools. For my system they actually limited the sound of my rigs. We had 4 of them for a while in various smaller and mid sized rigs. All the features involved are extremely useful tools, but none of them sounded up to our standards. We sold them all off after trying them for a couple of months and replaced them with BSS mini-drives in our systems. Keep in mind a BSS minidrive is a little more than twice as expensive and does not offer as many features. However, the BSS does offer EQ, inpout and output limiting, phase control and other standard crossover features. The DBX just always tended to kind of lay a "murky" sound over the whole spectrum. That got even worse when using the EQ and compressors. It even sounded wierd with Midas consoles on the fornt end. We switched everything over to BSS and all of a sudden the cabinets sounded bigger, smoother, and much more pleasent to work with. I have however also used the DBX in succesful situations. I really think that with cheaper speakers it is a tool that will help you out, but with nicer speakers it will actually limit your capabilities. I have no doubt in my mind that a BSS will sound better than the DBX no matter what speakers or other system stuff you are using, but it comes at a cost. I hope this helps some. It's not that I would reccomend against a Driverack PA, but that I would need to know more about the rest of the setup and intended use before I could feel good about it. Also, I buy gear based a lot on waht it will not do and what the shortcomings are. Thos seem to be the things that it is most important to know about gear. At least it is for me when I am putting out rentals:)

We have high end Crown amps (one for mains and one for subs). We have EV T18 subs and EV T252+ mains. We have a 24 channel Peavey board. Monitors are handled separately via in-ear.