DR 670 drum machine

Hi,
Recently purchased the DR-670 and love it! It's got a lot of great sounds (50+ kicks, 50+ snares, 256 sampled drums in all).Plus some good sounding bass patches.
I was going to go the software/sample route, but having a dedicated drum machine is way more versatile. I midi out of Cubase into the dr-670, and audio from the 670 back into cubase through my staudio dsp2000, with great results. I also use it by itself as a metronome for practicing.And, when I have to go out of town to work, I pack it up with my trusty old fostex x-15 four-track, and can lay down tracks in my motel room. When I get home, I can load anything I like from the four-track into cubase, and edit to my hearts content.

Kevin

DR-670 - Blank patterns in songs??

Just got mine last night and went through the manual. I am very new to this stuff, having just 'mastered' (yeah right) my BR1600CD DAW. I wanted more drum sounds and an easier way to input them, so I bagged the 670. One thing I can't see how to do is input a BLANK (no drums) sound when building a song. It is weird moving from measure to measure, as it always wants to put a drum pattern in there. Maybe I am doing something wrong, but the only way I could see to do this is to create an 'empty' pattern and lay that into the measure where I want no drums to sound. This occurs at the beginning of my particular song, but could be anywhere in the song. Any comments??

Steve

Hi there,
I suppose you could either insert a blank pattern, or if you have to have a drum in the pattern, just set it's level to 0. I'm not sure which would work, let me know.

Kevin

I demo'd one about a year ago, but I found it too menu intensive. I am probably going to pick up an old Roland R-5 or R-8. I just don't like that 'press shift and button A, then, while continuing to hold shift, press button B.' The older Roland Rythm Composers were easier to work with, and the sounds are acceptable.

YMMV :cool: