DP-01 Levels - how to read

Wonderlick

Hey all, this may be a bit of a silly question - but I have the DP-01FX, and I've been trying to find some info on how to read the levels on the screen, with no luck as of yet.

It appears that there is a split in the middle of the bar - and I'm assuming that means that the center is clipping - but I could definitely be wrong about that. Perhaps there's a standard in reading level meters such as this, however, I'm new to the game, and I have not come across this information. I've recorded over center, and it doesn't sound like it's clipping, so I just want to make sure I'm recording at the proper level on this particular device.

Any help is greatly appreciated, and if anyone needs further clarification, let me know.

Thank you!

Daryl

Well shucks, I just realized that I do keep the OL light from coming on when recording - so I shouldn't be clipping.

I knew that they were junk meters, maybe I'll just accept that, ignore 'em, and move on! :)

The split-line in the VU meter LCD displays for inputs and each track represents "0VU" for the digital recording/track section, (A/D-D/A section). I don't believe you'd be clipping until you actually hit the very top of the "meter" and exceed it. However, this should be verified through testing & actual use.

The OL LED will give you indication whether you're overloading the analog section of the preamp/input circuit. Even just "tickling" the OL LED occasionally will not produce audible distortion, as the analog section of this device is a little more forgiving than the digital section.

:spank::eek:;)

Wow, thank you sir, that helps out a lot - I have done some experimentation with the unit, but my set up is rudimentary at best...