does this matter?

hd1903

i'm gonna buy a nice card and all, to record bands(s) i'm in. i'm real new to this but if i'm deaf in one ear, does that matter. most of what i hear will come from the monitors and can turn my head to hear both better. if i use the headphones for when i'm recording i can play it mono? does this sound about right.

i'm gonna do it anyways but just want a heads up now since i don't know exactly how to go through the recording motions, i might be missing a correct way to do something that will require stereo hearing. i don't think i'll be mastering.

thanks

Well, I suppose you could probably track alright, set levels and such, but I would think it would be very difficult to mix to a stereo or other multichannel format (e.g., 5.1 surround). If only one ear works you will miss much of the interaction between the two channels and are apt to make improper mixing decisions.

i'm gonna record anyway, i'm a drummer and can write some stuff on guitar to. i wanna record for the purpose of reference for the band and, to make our demo's.

do i need to use headphones in any part of recording and mixing, i would guess i don't need to. i won't need 5.1 or anything, just stereo. i'm not really going to do anything crazy with switching back and forth l/r speakers. just the basic band in stereo and occasional fade or whatever to the right or left for certain guitar parts.

with just monitors playing i think i'll be ok, just gonna take alittle longer. what do i know though, i'm a newbie.

i'm gonna do it though, my one ear is a good ear. lol

Go for it, mix it yourself, then mix it with someone else. It will never hurt to have someone with you sitting behind you... ask them, how does that sound.. levels/balance. 2nd opinions are always good ;)

Porter

Hi Hd 1903,