does it matter which preamp you use w/ analog?

antispatula

I want to get a tampa, I've heard they're super for their price. I don't know if some pre's work better with analog or not. Will this work?

yes it is. I've never gotten a preamp before, and it wouldn't seem like it would matter whatsoever, but I'd rather make sure before spending 300 dollars. Maybe one preamp sounds better than another while recording onto a reel to reel? Don't know, I have no expirience in the matter. In fact, I'm still really new to recording altogether, I'm 16, cut me a break.

Last edited:
OK. for the most part it isn't going to matter what your recording medium is. a preamp is still going to do what a preamp does. if you are going for a certain sound from a certain preamp you are still going to get it. you can probably hear the differences better on a digital setup, but I don't think there's any specific pre's that are "better" for digital or analog. what are you upgrading from?

antispatula said:
I don't know if some pre's work better with analog or not.
First of all I don't know either. So I have no idea.
Second... I'd say, when evaluating preamps you'd rather look into what the preamp is better with "what's coming in" instead of looking into what it is bettwer with the type of device you send "what's coming out" to. :)
.... now, did I say something? or was it just a bunch of incoherent nonsense? :o :eek: :o :D :D :D

...ok, to put it differently a bit: a preamp can be evaluated based on what it does to incoming signal, but not on what the user's intentions are in respect to what to do with the preamp's output signal.
...or, say: a preamp can be "good" or "bad" for a kind of instrument, kind of performer, kind of mic, kind of room, but it can not be "good" or "bad" for a kind of amp, kind of speaker, kind of recorder.
well, I guess at the end, though, anything can be "good" or "bad" for a kind of listener ;)

/respects

FALKEN said: