Do I really need a hihat mike?

1980Slingerland

I've never used a hihat mike before, studio or live, and I was wondering if I should just forget about it? I'd rather not buy one to find I don't really need it. I'd rather not worry about placement/phase issues if it really doesn't make that much difference.
Here's what I use now:
57's close: snare, toms
Pro 25's: Kicks (2)
SM94 condensors: overheads
Any recommendations are greatly appreciated! I've been recording my drums for decades (mediocre to crappy quality :D ) and I finally want to work on getting a great sound!
Thanks
Ken

forget about it

usually i'm trying to get LESS hihat in my recordings, not MORE. :D

i say that unless you're doing really intricate hihat stuff (think stewart copeland) and need the focus, i wouldn't worry about it.

if you have the spare tracks going in, you can run one.....nothing says you have to use it.

however, running a hihat track CAN come in handy when you hardpan OH's L/R and the hat ends up waaaaaaay on one side--you can bring your dedicated hat channel more towards the middle and focus the hat more in the center--this is pretty crucial in dance/club music where the hat drives the song. in that case, personally i'd just not hardpan the OHs, but whatever. :p

YMMV

cheers,
wade

Thanks guys,
I do like to play dynamically on my hats in my hard rock band but I'll wait until I really am dissatisfied with my sound before I pick up a mike. In my classic rock band I know I won't need it. BTW, can anyone suggest a mike under 100 bucks that works well as a hat mike for future ref?
Thanks in advance.
Ken

Octava MC012, although like the others said, in mix down we're trying to find a way to get less hat in the mix!

I always mic the hat.
I use that mic in the mix about15% of the time.

Its nice to have it there if the drummer does alot of foot pedaling on the hats.
That stuff usually gets lost if it isnt mic'd.

I was just reading about this issue...