DIY Monitors - Yea or Nay?

Yareek

No clue where this thread should go, but I'm considering building a pair of 2-way passive monitors due to my inability to find something I like for under $1000. I've got plenty of soldering and audio experience, and after noticing the poor quality of drivers in prosumer nearfields, I figure I could probably put something together that would work.

Hatt Mk III

This is the design I'm looking at. $165 for drivers, $85 for cabinets, $35 for crossover parts, and $50 in stuffing/deadening/posts/cable/etc. So the whole thing would be $350 or so shipped. That will allow me $200 to $300 for a nice power amp as well as treat my room and possibly get a subwoofer down the road.

What I'm looking for is a speaker that's very detailed, reasonably flat and accurate, and non-fatiguing. I've used Seas drivers before (the Excel 7") and was very impressed, and I would prefer the smaller aluminum cone driver because it would have more detail as well as less roll-off in the crossover range.

The tweeter is a metal dome, which looks to be optimal for detailed high end. I noticed that most cheap monitors use silk domes, which roll off too much in the highs for my taste (hearing loss from drumming without earplugs when I was a kid probably). I think this is what will make or break the monitor.

I'm also looking to "build" a mono full-range monitor, akin to the Auratones of old. This Fostex driver and this amp should be a nice "nasty" speaker to A/B against the slightly prettier 2-way.

So am I nuts to try this? I've tried almost everything under $1000 and I don't feel like that would be the best use of my money. I'd rather spend $500 on monitors and $500 on treating my room.

Hey man, quit stealing my ideas! :D