DIY Ideas for you drummers looking for portable isolation..

Kapo_Polenton

ClearSonic MiniMega Isolation Booth - YouTube

This demo got me thinking.. I'm a drummer and I'm currently treating my basement recording space with acoustic tiles. If I am on the main floor, I can def hear someone playing my drums... this could cause problems for my or ny of our relationships down the line. Screaming nagging girlfriends or wives.. so given that a 10db decrease is perceived by the ears as 50% decrease in sound, I was thinking this demo gives me a great idea to put up a 8 plywood surround sheets attached by hinges two at a time, built on a base that is flush to ground, lined with roxul insulation, and with one plexi glass window in front for communication purposes. rails secured along the top and then similar "roof" strips that are insulated fit over top. Not perfect isolation but certainly effective in taking a dent out of the perceived volume and probably making it much more comfortable to track more than one instrument at a time.

What do you guys think? I'm assuming those grey pads they attach to the plexi glass are nothing more than stuffed with insulation.

plywood surround sheets attached by hinges two at a time

The gaps between the ply sheets will put a serious dent in your "sound proofing". I am not even close to being an expert, but sound is basically vibrations, traveling through air. So the more space that the air has to pass, the less sound resistant. Sure, it will help some, but I don't think as much as you think it will.

Drew

I think you should buy and electronic drumset instead.

I love it when people think they are being witty and mention the obvious.... if I wanted an electronic kit and I wanted my drums to sound well... like samples or a drum program, then yeah, i'd get an electric kit. Clearly I want to play real drums and record real drums. ;)