Diy daw help!

Boongoon

Hello,

I am looking to build a custom DAW computer. I have built PC's in the past so that part i am not confused about. I need help deciding what specs are adequate with room for the future. Basically i do not want to build the bare minimum. I aslodo not want power i will never use.

I am a beginner in recording. I have a TD-12 Drum set, a Alesis MultiMix16 usb2.0. Let me throw in a caveat that i would also like to get into video. My kids want to remake Star Wars. Lord help me!

So, i would like some help on specs. I would like to use a rackmount case similar to the one Rain uses. I found this.

SilverStone Technology Co., Ltd - Designing Inspiration

It is about $140. So i would like to spend a total of $500-$700.

I would appreciate any help i could get. Oh, yeah, i would ultimately like to use Pro Tools 9.:eek:

If you're not in a hurry I would wait a couple of months. Intel will release their new Sandy Bridge architecture in January and AMD is following that up with their Bulldozer so there's a lot going on.
I know there will always be something newer and better but the release is soon so I would wait.

sandybridge and bulldozer are both futer trends... i wouldnt consider them for anything but bleeding edge... i think you ca do better on that case price... gotta get hip to new egg... music computers tend to be cpu and ram heavy... find out what your prog runs best on and what intertfaces they recommend...

I did look and it gives me a good idea. My feeling is that I can go with a minimal set up. If I get really into it I can upgrade then.

Actually a good strategy is to get what was state-of-the-art A YEAR AGO.

It will still give you a powerful machine but all the bugs will be worked out by the users/manufacturers.

You DO NOT want to work on the bleeding edge if you want to get anything done....