"Dirty Vocals"

murphyd311

Hi all,

I've been lurking here for a couple of months, reading, learning, and applying (or attempting to). I've been using Pro Tools MP for about 6 months. I've read a couple of 'Home Recording' books to get an idea of how things work and how to apply concepts to my recordings.

I recently started playing bass with a local band, they (we I guess) are a mix of melodic rock with some screaming. I've been recording and mixing one of our songs to kind of get my feet wet. I've gotten the guitar, bass and drums about where I want them, but had been waiting on vocals to complete the mix. I got the vocalist over last night and laid down some good tracks. I took a step back last night and didn't mix it (as much as I wanted too).

I recorded 6 takes, 3 "clean" takes with an MXL 990, and three "dirty" takes with an SM58. The clean takes were emphasis on the singing, while the dirty takes I wanted the vocalist to emphasize the screaming parts. The only problem I have is the singing parts are kind of sterile, kind of like they were sung in a vacuum, it clashes with the song a bit right now. They're a bit "bright" as well, especially on the 990. I know that the 990 needs to be replaced future.

What tricks do you use to "dirty" up a vocal track? I'm assuming a little reverb and EQ, but I'm trying to get an idea of what other options I have. I was hoping for some ideas before I mixed these vocals in.

Thanks!

Dan

I don't play the kind of music you're probably talking about. But I've read people saying that "whisper" tracks can help make vocal tracks bigger.

I'm not positive what you mean by "dirty up" a vocal. But it might be interesting to send a bit of the vocal to an aux bus with something like one of Voxengo's amp sims (like Voxengo Tube Amp). Set it to a distorted setting. I've been meaning to try that for a couple years myself just to hear what it sounds like. I just keep forgetting. Shows you how keen I am on it.