Digital + Analog ??

greenengineer

As the name suggests, I am still rather new at recording. I am thinking about adding an analog format to my digital setup. Right now I am using a Korg D16XD digital recorder along with Cakewalk's Sonar 5 recording software. I also have a Ramsa WR-T820B 20 channel mixer. I am thinking about opening my studio to the public and am wundering if adding an analog format would be worth the extra money, and if there would be a big demand for it with most musicians to be able to use both formats.
Can anyone give me some pros and cons on using both and if you have had a big demand for using both formats on most projects that you have worked on?

Are you talking about recording to analog tape? AFAIK and much to my dispair, production has stopped on new analog tape so supplies will be limited but it is a great way to add warmth and a certain "something" to your recordings.

There will be far more demand for an engineer who can do a great no-nonsense job regardless of whether they run digital or analog than there will be for an average engineer with analog capability. You might be able to hook a couple of early clients in by advertising analog capability, but you'll never hold them as clients or get references through them if you are not as good as your gear.

Build your reputation first; rep is everything in this business. Become a master with working with what you got and working with your clients first, is my recommendation. Then, if during/after that your clients tell you that there'd be a high demaind for analog, then you can add that in to spring yourself to the next level.

But if you concentrate on gear now without honing your customer and engineering skills, you'll get an early rep as a rookie with a lot of gear, which isn't a whole lot different from a rookie with a little gear.

Just one opinion.

G.