digi 001 and software (be gentle) or Layla24

guhlenn

Oh REALLY????
I might get one (350). I can get a layla24 for even less(200). But i like the monitor volume knob (from experience, it is worth something...) and protools. But do i get all the fancy schmancy plug ins and things? I really cannot tell from the website. prices are insane so the plugs and software would definately justify the extra cash spend on the digi. Please don't start a ban digi campaign here. I know. I don't care. I want alot for little. I know layla might be slightly better. But no software... I like the idea of all in one software. But do i get it all, or is it just the 6.4 slimmed down version ? I really tried , searched here and at digi, but they say all plugs come along with 6.4 but next they tell me it costs a shitload... (like the fearn (?) compressor for 599,- wtf?)

Some help here. I'm a digidesign newbie (you guys kept me away! LOL) but man, i just want to record. I can always add nice AD/DA and preamps later.

Help :o :confused:

REALLY appreciated... :)

where are you getting it from?
if it's ebay or something...make sure it does come with software at least. a lot of people leave out the software and just include the hardware.
and no, you'll get basic plugins with the 001 most likely and maybe some trial versions of others. i don't know if back in the day they had 001 Bundled with a bunch of plugins like they do with the 002 now.
also keep in mind that you won't be able to upgrade the software anymore for the 001. 6.4 is the last version you'll be able to get

I love my protools rig (002R) but I have to warn you that the newest version of Protools (6.7) no longer supports the 001. I would assume this means Digidesign is going to be phasing out support for that system.