Dictionary

itaughttremonti

Paul McCartney died?
What's up fellas? And ladies, assuming there are some on here.

A little background. I have been playing guitar for about 11 years and writing songs/in a band/light gigging for about 4 years. My approach on guitar was always a plug-and-play approach, tone wasn't of the greatest importance to me, I just wanted it to be technically correct. Let the board guy fix my sound, I just wanna play! Well, now I'm older and have tons of techniques and tricks up my sleeve, and got into the "gear" aspect of the music, and with that, came the want to record my stuff. So I'm starting to get my act together and planning a buying spree for a start-up home studio, I've read quite a bit on the forums here, talked briefly with my buddy (who told me about these forums) and will continue to pick his brain...but my lack of paying attention to gear for all these years has caught up with me. I am a total noob when it comes to what stuff is. So I was wondering if anyone here has a link to a "dictionary" of sorts with audio terms in it (in words dumb guys can understand)? Or maybe, this could get stickied and someone just posts a word they dont know about, and then someone answers it to the best of their abilities?

Just a thought....*catches breath*....with all that out of the way, what is a "pre" and how does it work? What is it's significance to me?

A pre is a term meaning Microphone Pre Amp. It raises the low voltage of a microphone to a level usable by other equipment, like a mixer, an interface/converter, etc.