Determining Head Wear - Tascam 38

fstrat76

For head replacement, I understand that when a gap starts showing up, that its definitely time to replace them.

I've included two images. The first image is from my almost working 38, the one I am in the middle of aligning and calibrating. The second image is from a very cheap 38 I picked up recently to either restore or use for spare parts.

However, I'm not experienced enough to know how good the heads actually are. One tech service guy told me the head in image 1 was in excellent condition, although the photograph reveals scratches and marks.

Besides the calibration procedures revealing issues, so how does one determine how worn the heads are, when its time to relap or replace?

Attachments

• head1.jpg
    head1.jpg
    58.9 KB · Views: 269
  • head2.jpg
    head2.jpg
    55.3 KB · Views: 263
It looks like BOTH heads have some uneven wear but not major...its not keystoning really...its almost like something wasn't setup quite right in the tape paths and the tension was higher at the bottom of the tape vs the top. Anyway...

Both heads appear to have about the same wear and you can tell by the length of the edge slots.

Both have plenty of life left IMO.

head #1 has that NASTY scratch down at track 8...that would be taken care of in a lap.

Head #1 ALSO looks almost like there is a crack going through the left end of the top edge slot? Is that what I'm seeing or is that just another crack or even a fiber or some debris?

Head #2 looks yucky at the bottom.

Here's the answer I've gotten to your really big question: