Desperado Cover

hemeltz

Hello,
With my acquisition (finally) of a korg sp200, this is my first finished song on it. I've been playing this cover for about 3 years, and I guess it's about time I recorded it. Comments on both performance and engineering are welcome.
Thank you very much!

http://harrymeltzer.com/?page_id=5
^scroll down to the music player and press play, althoug I think everyone here is smart enough to figure that out on their own.

-Harry

I like the song. I would cover it too, but I'm too lazy :D

The vocals don't fit right in the recording. There just something that's off about them. The piano playing is great, but the piano don't sound as amazing as I'm sure it could.

The following track, 3 minutes, was more interesting and sounded much more natural.

Hello,
With my acquisition (finally) of a korg sp200, this is my first finished song on it. I've been playing this cover for about 3 years, and I guess it's about time I recorded it. Comments on both performance and engineering are welcome.
Thank you very much!

http://harrymeltzer.com/?page_id=5
^scroll down to the music player and press play, althoug I think everyone here is smart enough to figure that out on their own.

-Harry

Nice cover. I think it lacks in dynamics. Needs more shimmer on the piano and vox. Is the piano real? It sounds real, but it might just be the mix.

I like the song. I would cover it too, but I'm too lazy :D

The vocals don't fit right in the recording. There just something that's off about them. The piano playing is great, but the piano don't sound as amazing as I'm sure it could.

The following track, 3 minutes, was more interesting and sounded much more natural.

I agree that 3 minutes sounds more full.

The piano is a korg sp200, not acoustic, but the sounds are great. I'm working on reaching its full potential, but since I only recently got it, I haven't had much time to explore it yet.