delta 66- sonar 2.2

cabbage

hi,

Im a newbie and im wondering what my soundcard settings should be?
currently they are

Output- +4dbu
In1 - +4
In2 - +4

Latency- 384 samples

sample rate- 44,100

Is this bad? I got the soundcard off a mate without the instructions
cheers,
C.

im plugging it into the M-audio omni i/o, i also have behringer truths
i had a look through the manual but i dont understand it?
What should i have my sound card set at for playback-
+4db
Consumer
-10db

??

cabbage said:
hi,

Im a newbie and im wondering what my soundcard settings should be?
currently they are

Output- +4dbu
In1 - +4
In2 - +4

Latency- 384 samples

sample rate- 44,100

Is this bad? I got the soundcard off a mate without the instructions
cheers,
C.

Thats exactly the same as my setup and same settings too ;) Just make sure your audio settings in sonar is set to 24 bit driver bit depth. Although it will use more storage space on your disk, the quality of your recodings will be better than 16 bit - even though CD quality exporting dithers it down to 16 bit anyway ;)

cheers mate,

mine was set to 16 bit. ive already recorded songs at 16bit, im guessing that it will not be as simple as changing it to 24bit? re-record to get that quality?
cheers,
C.

cabbage said:
cheers mate,

mine was set to 16 bit. ive already recorded songs at 16bit, im guessing that it will not be as simple as changing it to 24bit? re-record to get that quality?
cheers,
C.

You are quite right, you cannot convert 16 bit recordings into 24 bit. Your options are to re-record or complete your project in 16 bit.

thanks paul,

also, does that mean that if i were recording more tracks on the same song, i couldnt record them at 24bit? what problems could that cause?
cheers,
C.

cabbage said:
thanks paul,

also, does that mean that if i were recording more tracks on the same song, i couldnt record them at 24bit? what problems could that cause?
cheers,
C.