Delta 1010 and outboard effects ... help

mcr

I'm new to this so please throw me some 2 cents ...

I don't have an external mixer ... so how would I use my outboard RNC (compressor)? I was thinking that I could have a signal go into input 1, have that signal routed to output 4 and connect output 4 with the RNC ... then connect the RNC send to another input ....
Is that a common way to do it or do I need an external mixer with FX sends and returns???

That sounds right to me. I have a 1010, doesn't the manual have a section in it were it shows diagrams for just this sort of thing? I don't have it here, but I'm pretty sure it does.

I couldn't find any info on routing effects in the manual of the 1010 ... even though I don't own the 1010 yet so it might be coming with the printed manual.

thanks for your answer .... :)

That's cool. I think MAudio has the manual online somewhere...at least they used to.

It doesn't matter anyway, I'm looking at the manual and I was wrong. The diagrams don't show this type of connection. What you described sounds right to me.

If you do that of course you will be tying up one or more inputs... plus you'll be introducing the computer's latency into the equation -- the sound will be digitized, routed through the Delta mixer, converted back to analog, then redigitized after passing through the compressor, back through the Delta mixer to get recorded, and finally back out to the analog realm to the speakers...

A far better approach is to use a mixer as a control center and treat the analog inputs of the Delta as if they were the analog inputs of a multitrack tape recorder.

Not exactly sure what you want to do...