Defrag Question

saxman72

Okay,
So I'm still kinda new to this hard disk recording thing.

My main question is this: Should I back up my drives before defraging them? Or is it perfectly safe to just go ahead and do it?... Bear in mind I have almost a year's worth of stuff on these drives.

My second and possibly more complicated question is this: If I need to reformat my drives and re-install everything, is it better to put the valuable data on a CD-R, or a CD-RW? Is there any difference in terms of error possibilities?... and is one copy safe enough before wiping out the drives?

It's looking more and more like I'm gonna have to do this so I'd like to be as informed and educated as possible!

Thanks everyone! This place is full of valuable info!

saxman72 (from the dark ages of digital tape!)

I never had any problems with lost data due to defragmentation but I wouldn't swear that it 100% safe. Nothing is when you're dealing with computers. I don't back up before a defragmentation though. If you have important stuff on the disk, you need a backup anyway but not because of the defrag.

I always check the data on CDRs on another machine before wiping the disk. I don't think there is a consequent difference in quality between CDR and CDRW.

Good luck

/Ola

Holy Defrag Saxman!
Are you saying you haven't defragged in a year?
Thats a good way to have your computer come to a grinding
halt. Your read/write head must be jumping for joy looking for data after a years worth of data deletion and moving. It needs to be contiguous so the head doesnt have to jump around looking for data.
If your using your computer on a regular basis for recording I would make plans to defrag once a week
just to keep things running smooth. It also speeds it up because it takes less time looking for data.
Defrag doesn,t delete data it just puts it back in order so