Dean Evo XM - used guitar advice

normington

Hi,

I'm an acoustic player primarily, and haven't really done much on electric. I'd like to start experimenting a bit with electric guitars, and want something cheap to get me started. The Dean Evo XM guitars have some good reviews, and go for a great price. I've found a used one (great condition, about a year and a half since purchase but barely played) for £80, and I'm looking at buying it.

Bearing in mind I'm a young student and really can't afford to spend a large amount more on it, I want to ask you for some advice. With a budget guitar in the first place, do you think I should just find a new one to be on the safer side, or is the used one fine, given that it's a bit cheaper? Does anybody know about this guitar, is it any good, or should I be looking at something else?

Cheers,
Andy

That's a Les-Paul-type guitar, right?

As far as I know, Dean guitars are reasonably good guitars for a reasonable price.

I know that guitars are way more expensive in the UK than here in the States, but that guitar has a new street value of about $119 USD, which according to the online currency converter I just used, comes out to 71 pounds UK.

80 pounds sounds very high no matter how you cut it.

don't buy it. i have a dean vendetta XM. it has given me nothing but problems... it sounds horrible and its damn near falling apart.

don't get me wrong, i love dean guitars but their lower end models make better saw dust.

It looks like kingofpain has some experience with Dean's lower-end models. You might want to look around before buying it.

Perhaps you could find a used Fender Squier Stratocaster or Telecaster?

That is something to think about.
@kingofpain, do you have any experience of any other low-end Dean's, or have you known others be 'nothing but trouble' too?

Cheers,

definitely.

look into low end esp's or epiphones.

i've had good experiences with both of those brands.

good luck to you! :D