dbx 386 preamp?

machine

I'm considering getting a dbx 386 for my home studio. Any of you guys have opinions on this unit? How much better do you think the 586 is (I could probably swing it but that would limit my mic budget)? And are there any comparable units you think I should be shopping also?

Hey Track Rat,
You got a witness here. I've had mine for a few months and am very happy with it. One versatile piece it is. Still gettin used to it.

Trackrat, Basketball - either of you persons ever used ART preamps before? If so, how do they compare to the 386? (I'm using ART Tube pres, and am much happier with them (my first tube pres) than I was before I had them.)

Hi Dobro. No, I've never used the Art pre's before but I have a DR-X and a LT-X that I like but that doesn't answer your question. I love the 386 but now I'm looking for something with more color, possibly the Joe Meek. While the tube in the 386 is a true tube circuit (235V on the grid) it's not as colorful as I'd like. Pristine is the word I'd discribe the 386 as.

Yup, that's how drstawl describes his 386...

...more or less, and that's why he likes it. I'm also seriously considering the Presonus Blue, because of its price and the reports about it. Problem is, I lack experience, only having heard my mics through ART Tube MPs and the solid state pres on my mixer, and don't know if I want sound that's pristine or colored. I prefer the ARTs to the mixer pres. So, colored, I suppose.

As for the sound of the 386, you guys are right - it is transparent. But why not add a little effect for color?

A few more things not mentioned up to this point. A total of six inputs - 2 on front, 4 on back. Two preamp tubes per channel - (I am gonna hate ever having to replace 'em -
I don't think a tube tester exists on the planet anymore.)
Enough gain to record ants dancing on my neighbors floor.