dbx 160xt,166, etc.

vwcsonic

Hi,

Question for dbx lovers out there. I currently have one 160xt, two 166, one 166a, and one 266XL. I usually used the 266XL for compressing kick and snare at mixdown. I know most people don't like that unit too much, but the attack and release give me some precise control. I'm just learning my way around compression, but seems like setting the attack a bit slower lets the initial punch of the drum hit through, which sounds good to my uneducated ears.

Question is, I've just recently gotten the 160xt and 166a. Both are supposed to be superior models, but will they give me the same punch on kick/snare that I'm able to dial in with the 266 since they have no adjustable attack/release? Am I better off sticking to using the inferior unit that has the more precise controls for drums?

Any dbx pros out there that could tell me what they like to use some of these models for?

If you want the real DBX sound, just sell em all and get yourself into a 160VU, a 162, or one of the 165's. As far as the others go, they may still please you, even with less controls, or they may not. It really is the kind of thing you need to try for yourself.

Try 'em. :)

True, you have less controls, but let your ears tell you if they sound good or not. The controls don't mean everything and the 160 and 166 units sound pretty good on most things with just a little tweaking.

Enjoy,
Chris

Oh... to answer your question directly.

My 160x usually ends up on the lead vocal track. Bass sometimes, but the bass ends up going through the 166xl more often than not. Sometimes I'll throw a stereo submix of all the backing vocals through the 166xl. Sometimes kick and snare through the 166xl.